Chattanooga’s Alaina Washington named to the 2020-21 Cohort of Haslam Scholars


Alaina Washington is one of 15 incoming freshmen at the University of Tennessee-Knoxville who are the newest members of the Haslam Scholars Program, UT’s most prestigious undergraduate academic scholars initiative. 

This year’s cohort was selected from 550 applicants.

Washington, of Chattanooga, plans to major in industrial engineering.

She was president of Ooltewah High School’s Science Olympiad team, co-president of the Model United Nations club, drum major in the marching band, and secretary of the National Honor Society chapter.

A Girl Scout since kindergarten, Washington earned the Gold Award, advocating for scoliosis awareness in underrepresented community groups. She played flute in the All-State East Honor Band.

Thirteen of the 15 scholars in this year’s cohort are from Tennessee. The scholars will receive scholarships to cover tuition, fees, and room and board, stipends to pursue additional experiential learning opportunities, and a fully funded study abroad program.

The Haslam Scholars program is one of four university-wide, interdisciplinary honors programs for UT’s highest-achieving students, housed in the Division of Student Success. 

“This year’s cohort is made up of a diverse and driven group of scholars who have already shown exceptional leadership and academic excellence,” said Provost and Senior Vice Chancellor David Manderscheid. “Haslam Scholars carry on a brilliant legacy of civic engagement and servant leadership, and I’m excited to see this group thrive at UT and beyond.”

Other newest Haslam Scholars include: Ivanna Adames of Orange County, California; Jacob Altrock of Memphis; Christiane Alvarez of Knoxville; Ryan Beatty of Franklin, Tennessee; Jack Duncan of Cleveland, Tennessee; Isabella Enoch of Murfreesboro, Tennessee; Jalen Humphreys of Memphis; Sarah Lange of Clarksville, Tennessee; Kevin Malone of Memphis; DeShala McDuffie of Clarksville, Tennessee; Logan O’Neal of Knoxville; Micah Owens of Cookeville, Tennessee; Courtney Tolbert of Powder Springs, Georgia and Anna Weis of Murfreesboro, Tennessee.

The Haslam Scholars Program promotes the pursuit of knowledge, scholarly research, civic engagement, and community leadership and offers partnerships with high-profile institutions in Tennessee such as Oak Ridge National Laboratory.

The program was founded in 2008, with a generous gift from Jimmy and Dee Haslam and Jim and Natalie Haslam.


  1. Hi there! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new apple iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Keep up the excellent work!

Comments are closed.