Dr. Bryan Johnson one of 24 school leaders in the nation named, ‘A Superintendent to Watch’


    Hamilton County Schools Superintendent Dr. Bryan Johnson is one of 24 school leaders from across the country named a Superintendent to Watch by the National School Public Relations Association (NSPRA).
    Founded in 1935, NSPRA defines itself in its mission statement as “a professional organization dedicated to building support for education through responsibile public relations that leads to success for all students.”
    NSPRA selected the superintendents for their use of communication technology in innovative and effective ways, and for how they engage and inform their school communities with new communication technology tools combined with tried-and-true techniques.
    Selection criteria required those chosen to have less than five years of experience as a superintendent in a school district and to possess “dynamic, fast-paced leadership with strong communication” at its core.
    As he begins his fourth year as superintendent, Dr. Johnson has been recognized for district accomplishments locally, statewide and nationally.
    The coast-to-coast publication, Education Week, named Dr. Johnson one of its Leaders to Learn From for 2020.
    Additionally, the Tennessee Organization of School Superintendents recognized Dr. Johnson as the 2020 S.E. Tennessee Superintendent of the Year, and he is one of eight finalists for Tennessee Superintendent of the Year.
    One of Dr. Johnson’s more innovative programs is “Sit-downs with the Superintendent,” where teachers can discuss how district policies impact the classroom and what the superintendent can do to help teachers be even more effective in reaching children.
    Dr. Johnson has also formed a Teacher Cabinet that shares ideas with him to improve results for children, as well as implemened student and parent advisory councils.
    Hamilton County Schools has experienced historic academic growth and achievement in the last three years, making it the fastest improving school district in Tennessee.