Dr. Bryan Johnson named 2021
    Tennessee Superintendent of the Year


    Dr. Bryan Johnson of Hamilton County Schools has been named as the 2021 Tennessee Superintendent of the Year by the Tennessee Organization of School Superintendents (TOSS).

    The announcement was made Monday during a virtual TOSS Awards Banquet.

    Representing the Southeast region of Tennessee, Dr. Johnson was selected for this honor out of a distinguished group of eight Regional Superintendents of the Year.

    Dr. Johnson just completed his third school year as Superintendent of Schools in Hamilton County with student academic results showing historic levels of improvement.

    For the first time, the district’s overall composite and each subject area measured achieved a Level 5–the highest level of academic growth on the latest state testing results–and 32 schools achieved Reward status, the top distinction a school can earn in Tennessee.

    Under Dr. Johnson’s leadership, Hamilton County Schools has developed a comprehensive five-year action plan called “Future Ready 2023” to provide a roadmap for continuous improvement efforts as staff and students work to become one of the best school districts in the state.

    “Everything we do from the point a child enters Hamilton County Schools is designed to help each child be successful,” Dr. Johnson said.

    TOSS Executive Director Dr. Dale Lynch said in a statement, “There is no doubt that Dr. Johnson is among the best of the best in educational leadership, not only in Tennessee but nationally. The support he has from his school board, his system, and his community is a testament to his success as a district leader. Dr. Johnson has built a culture in Hamilton County that is focused on doing what is best for students. I’m honored to have the opportunity to work with him and to present him this award.”

    Dr. Johnson will now represent Tennessee in the National Superintendent of the Year program sponsored by the American Association of School Administrators (AASA) at its National Conference on Education.