Chattanooga NAACP Announces the Virtual 2021 Ruby Hurley Image Awards

    Ruby Hurley (November 7, 1909 – August 9, 1980) was an American civil rights activist. She was a leader in the Civil Rights Movement and administrator for the NAACP, and was known as the “queen of civil rights”

    November 11, 2021 at 7:00 P.M.

    The Chattanooga Hamilton County NAACP invites you to attend the 33rd Annual Ruby Hurley Image Awards.  This year’s theme is “Restoring Faith and Hope with a Commitment to Justice”.  The evening will consist of live entertainment, awards and a conversation with the national NAACP President, Attorney Derrick Johnson.  Culminating the evening is a private concert by Psalmist, Bishop Marvin Sapp.

    The purpose of the Ruby Hurley Image Awards is to recognize life and regular membership holders and to recruit new members; both individual and corporate.  The funds raised through donations sustains the work of the NAACP.  During this time each year, those individuals who have given unselfishly of themselves to the community are recognized.

    To join the event, you may register with Eventbrite by entering Ruby Hurley Image Awards and following the prompts.  Each individual ticket is $25.00 and will be distributed to you electronically through Eventbrite. 

    The 2021 Image Award winners are:  Dr. Juanita Ingram, Esq.—Ambassador Award, Principal Crystal Sorrells—Educator of the Year; LaTrice Currie (News Anchor)—Hannah Martin “Through the Storm Award”; Civil Service Award—Sgt. David Young (Chattanooga Police Department), Lt. Charles Lowery III (Sheriff’s Department) and SR FF Kenneth Martin (Chattanooga Fire Department); Reggie White Athletic Award—Christian Doty, Senior Ooltewah High School) and McKenna Hayes, Senior (East Hamilton High School), John Craw, Jr., Freshman Tennessee Tech University and Raegyn Connelly, Freshman (Wake Forest University); DeSean Aaron and Chelsea Brewster—ACT-SO Award; Mr. Clemmie Benjamin—Business Person of the Year; Marie Rachel Mott and Cameron “C-Grimey” Williams—Civic Engagement Award; Kaylea Moore, Timetrius Lansden and Jaylan Sims (Tyner Academy Students)—Youth Activist Award; Herbert “Book” McCray—Ruby Hurley Humanitarian of the Year; David Cook (Times Free Press Journalist)—James R. Mapp Citizen of the Year; Patricia Shackleford Gray—Chattanooga NAACP President’s Award; the Viola Membership Award is shared by all Chattanooga NAACP Branch members for a job well-done.

    An added recognition is in memory of Chris Ramsey, Minority Health Fair; Sherman Matthews, Lead Plaintiff of Brian A. Lawsuit, and President of Unity Group; and Reverend Paul McDaniel, Founder of Unity Group and Pastor Emeritus Second Missionary Baptist Church.  These individuals were trail blazers in our community and they leave a void to be filled with a mighty legacy. Founded in 1909, the NAACP is the nation’s oldest and largest civil rights organization.  Its half-million adult and youth members throughout the United States and the world are the premier advocates for civil rights in their communities, conducting voter mobilization and monitoring equal opportunity in the public and private sectors. The Chattanooga Branch is in the Southeast Region which consists of Alabama, Georgia, Florida, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee.